Most futures prop firms let one person hold up to 5 funded accounts at a time, while evaluation limits range from 10 accounts to none at all. You can also hold accounts at several firms at once. A prop firm account is either an evaluation (a paid, simulated test with profit and loss rules) or a funded account (usually still simulated, with the firm paying you a share of the profits). The figures below come from each firm's own rules as checked in September 2026; firms change them often, so confirm before buying.

Key takeaway

All nine futures prop firms checked in September 2026 (Topstep, Take Profit Trader, My Funded Futures, Tradeify, Lucid Trading, Alpha Futures, FundedNext Futures, Bulenox and Elite Trader Funding) set a headline cap of 5 funded accounts per trader. The rules around the cap matter more than the number: five of the nine count or bar the whole household, every hedging rule checked bans opposing positions across accounts, and five accounts on identical trades multiply one decision instead of diversifying it.

How many funded accounts does each prop firm allow?

Each of the nine firms verified allows up to 5 funded accounts, with lower caps for some account sizes or programmes at My Funded Futures, Alpha Futures and Topstep. Topstep's Express Funded Account parameters state "You can hold up to 5 active XFAs at a time," where an XFA (Express Funded Account) is Topstep's simulated funded account. In the table, "not stated" means the firm's page gave no number, not that no limit exists.

FirmMax evaluationsMax fundedHousehold or person ruleSource (Sep 2026)
TopstepUnlimited Trading Combines5 XFAs (1 for Shoulder Tap holders); 1 Live Funded AccountNo household cap found; account sharing bannedTopstep Help Center
Take Profit TraderNot stated5, PRO, PRO+ or a mixNot verifiedTake Profit Trader FAQ
My Funded Futures105 if all are $25K or $50K; 3 if any is $100K or $150KNo two traders on one deviceMFFU Help Center
TradeifyNot stated5 Simulated Funded, all types combinedOne Tradeify account per individual; the cap of 5 counts the householdTradeify Evaluation Services Agreement
Lucid Trading10, counted together with funded5 funded; 5 LucidLiveEvaluation, funded and LucidLive caps count the household or familyLucid Help Center
Alpha FuturesNot stated5 Qualified per listed type; 3 with an Advanced accountOne individual per householdAlpha Futures Help Center
FundedNext Futures$750,000 total Challenge size, no count5, plus up to 3 FNL:003 50K Instant accounts outside the cap5 per household (family, or users sharing an address or IP)FundedNext Futures Help Center
BulenoxUnlimited Qualification accounts5 Master-level (Master, Fast Track and Momentum combined)Not verifiedbulenox.com Accounts & Pricing
Elite Trader FundingNot stated5 Elite Sim-Funded (20 for evaluations bought before Sep 17, 2025)No separate accounts for anyone at the same addressETF Help

My Funded Futures also caps individual plans, per its help article on moving from evaluation to Sim-Funded: 3 Rapid EOD $25K, 3 Rapid EOD $50K, 2 Builder $25K and 1 Builder $50K. Alpha Futures lists 5 Qualified accounts per type (Zero, Direct, Standard) without saying whether the per-type caps stack, so ask Alpha before planning more than 5. Apex Trader Funding is left out because its official pages could not be loaded for verification; see the Apex vs Topstep comparison for its plans and the best futures prop firms of 2026 for price and payouts.

CAPS BY FIRM, SEPTEMBER 2026 FUNDED ACCOUNTSEVALUATIONSTopstep+1 LiveunlimitedTake Profit Tradernot statedMy Funded Futures3 if any is $100K+10Tradeifynot statedLucid Trading+5 LucidLive10 incl. fundedAlpha Futuresper type; 3 Advancednot statedFundedNext Futures+3 instant outside cap$750K total sizeBulenoxunlimitedElite Trader Funding20 if bought pre 17 Sep 2025not stated5Checked on each firm's own help pages, September 2026. Firms change these; confirm before buying.
Every firm checked lands on the same headline number. The differences are in the footnotes: what counts toward the cap, whether live accounts sit outside it, and whether evaluations are limited at all.

Is there a limit on evaluation accounts?

Evaluation limits vary far more than funded limits: Topstep and Bulenox set none, My Funded Futures and Lucid Trading stop at 10, and FundedNext Futures caps total size instead of count. Topstep's Responsible Trading Program page sets no limit on Trading Combines (its evaluations), and Bulenox's Accounts & Pricing page sets none on Qualification accounts. My Funded Futures states on its evaluation-to-funded page that "Traders may hold a maximum of 10 active Evaluation Accounts at any given time." FundedNext Futures allows up to $750,000 of Challenge accounts at once, which is room for 15 $50K Challenges or 5 $150K ones.

Lucid Trading's cap of 10 counts evaluation and funded accounts together, so a Lucid trader holding 5 funded accounts can run only 5 evaluations. Passing more evaluations than the funded cap allows creates no extra funded accounts: at Topstep, a Combine passed at the limit produces an XFA that waits on hold until another one closes, and FundedNext Futures queues new funded accounts the same way and issues no more than 10 to one trader in a calendar month.

Can you have accounts at multiple prop firms at once?

Yes: every cap in the table applies inside one firm, and none of the rules checked forbids holding accounts elsewhere. Five funded accounts at each of the nine firms makes 45 on paper, and four layers of rules decide how many of those you can use:

  1. Contract, not law. Each firm writes its caps into its own terms and can change them at will.
  2. Identity. One person holds one verified profile per firm (KYC, the know-your-customer identity check). The Tradeify Evaluation Services Agreement says "Each individual may register for and hold only one (1) Tradeify account," Elite Trader Funding allows one registered account per user, and Alpha Futures one username per individual.
  3. The cap. Usually 5 funded accounts, often counted per household.
  4. Conduct. Copier permission and the hedging ban, which Tradeify and Lucid Trading extend across firms.
FOUR LAYERS BEFORE THE NUMBER 45 funded accounts on paper (9 firms x 5)Contract, not laweach firm sets and enforces its own termsIdentity: one person, one verified profileKYC: one account per individual at Tradeify, Elite, AlphaThe cap: 5 funded, often per householdthe household, not the person, at several firmsConduct: copier permission and hedging banhedging bans extend across firms at Tradeify and Lucidwhat you can actually use
The cap is the third filter, not the first. Identity rules and household rules usually bind before a trader gets anywhere near five, and conduct rules decide whether the accounts can trade together.

Accounts at several firms spread firm risk, such as a rule change or slow payouts at one firm, but not trading risk when every account takes the same trades; trading multiple prop firms for diversification separates the two.

Can your spouse or roommate open their own accounts?

Often not at the same firm: Lucid Trading, Tradeify and FundedNext Futures count the whole household inside one cap, and Alpha Futures and Elite Trader Funding allow only one person per household. Lucid's maximum-accounts page sets "Up to 5 active funded accounts per household or family," and the Tradeify agreement says its limit "applies on a per-individual and per-household basis and across ALL funded account types." FundedNext Futures limits a household, which it defines as family members or several users sharing an address or IP, to 5 active funded accounts. Alpha Futures lets one individual per household use its services, and Elite Trader Funding prohibits separate accounts for family members, roommates or anyone sharing the same residential address.

Firms without a household cap still police shared equipment and coordination. My Funded Futures forbids two traders from using the same tablet, phone or computer. Topstep's help centre shows no household cap, but its Prohibited Conduct rules ban coordinated group trading and account sharing among friends and family. How prop firms detect copy trading covers the signals firms use to link accounts.

ONE PERSON, ONE IDENTITY, ONE HOUSEHOLD ONE HOUSEHOLDTraderPartnerKYCFirm profile5 fundedBlockedAlpha Futures, Elite Trader FundingShares the same 5Lucid, Tradeify, FundedNextSeparate devices onlyMy Funded FuturesTopstep: no household cap found, but coordinated trading and account sharing among friends and family are banned.
A partner opening "their own" accounts is the most common way traders find out a cap is per household. The answer differs by firm, from an outright block to sharing the same five slots.

Can you copy trades across all your funded accounts?

Yes at Topstep, Take Profit Trader, My Funded Futures, Lucid Trading, Tradeify and FundedNext Futures, as long as the trades are your own. Topstep's XFA page answers the copier question with "Yes, up to $750K buying power using a trade copier," and five $150K accounts, the largest XFA size, add up to exactly $750K. Take Profit Trader's FAQ allows copy trading on up to 5 PRO accounts, My Funded Futures allows copy trading across all account types, Lucid Trading permits trade copiers, FundedNext Futures lets traders copy between their own accounts, and Tradeify's agreement (section 6.7(b)) permits copying across your own accounts to the extent its Help Center rules allow. My Funded Futures, Tradeify and FundedNext Futures prohibit copying between different people.

Elite Trader Funding allows only its approved copier partners (Tradesyncer, Tradecopia, Affordable Indicators and the compliance version of Replikanto Flowbot) plus copying built into the trading platform. Thor, this blog's own product, was not on that list when checked, so at Elite Trader Funding a listed partner or the platform's own tool is the right choice, not Thor. Copier rules at Alpha Futures and Bulenox were not verified. Firm-by-firm permissions are in can you copy trade multiple prop firm accounts, and wiring one master to several accounts in how to set up copy trading across prop accounts.

Can you hedge between two prop firm accounts?

No: every hedging rule checked bans opposing positions across accounts, and Tradeify and Lucid Trading extend the ban to accounts at other firms. Topstep's XFA parameters state "Hedging across accounts and coordinated trading with others is prohibited." Lucid's hedging rules cover one user's accounts, different users, and different firms or funded platforms. Tradeify's agreement (section 6.7(c)) bans opposing positions in the same futures product or product group, including positions held at other prop firms or brokers. Elite Trader Funding names correlated instruments, with NQ against MNQ as its example, and FundedNext Futures bans offsetting positions on the same or correlated instruments, such as a buy on NQ in one account and a sell on NQ in another.

Hedging bans close off the most tempting multi-account plan: long in one account and short in another, so one side passes whatever the market does. Why hedging across prop accounts is banned explains the reasoning.

What happens to your other accounts when you go live?

Going live closes your other funded accounts at Topstep and freezes the household at Tradeify, while Lucid Trading allows up to 5 LucidLive accounts per household. Topstep allows one Live Funded Account, and its Live Funded Account parameters state "When you receive a Live Funded Account, all Express Funded Accounts are closed." Passed Trading Combines cannot activate into new XFAs while the Live account is active, so five Topstep XFAs become one account on the day of the call-up.

Tradeify's agreement bars a trader with an active Elite Live account from opening or holding new Challenge, Straight-to-Sim or other Tradeify funded accounts, and bars everyone else in the household from holding any Tradeify account. Take Profit Trader counts PRO+ live-market accounts inside its cap of 5.

TOPSTEP: FROM COMBINES TO LIVE Trading CombinesunlimitedpassXFAXFAXFAXFAXFAon holdmax 5 active Express Funded AccountsLive call-upLive Funded Accountmax 1at call-up, all 5 XFAs close: five accounts become onewhile Live is active, new Combine passes cannot activate XFAsTopstep terms, September 2026. Shoulder Tap holders are limited to 1 XFA.
The cap changes shape as accounts progress. At Topstep, reaching Live closes every Express Funded Account, so a five-account copier fleet becomes a single account overnight.

Is running the maximum number of accounts worth it?

Only for a strategy with a tested edge, because the maximum multiplies the result of every trade by five and a trade copier copies losses as faithfully as profits. Take five $50K Topstep XFAs, each with the $2,000 Maximum Loss Limit (MLL, the drawdown at which the account fails) in Topstep's Maximum Loss Limit article, and an illustrative $500 stop on every trade in every account. The combined buffer is B = N × MLL and one identical stop-out costs L = N × stop, so the share of the buffer lost per trade is L / B = stop / MLL, whatever N is.

5 XFAs of sizeMLL eachCombined bufferLoss on one identical $500 stopShare of buffer lostIdentical stops to use up all fiveCombined nominal size
$50K$2,000$10,000$2,50025.00%4$250,000
$100K$3,000$15,000$2,50016.67%6$500,000
$150K$4,500$22,500$2,50011.11%9$750,000

A single $50K account loses the same 25% to one $500 stop, and 4 losing trades in a row from the start end all five accounts at once. Topstep's MLL trails the end-of-day balance until it locks at the starting balance, so each buffer is day-one room, not a cushion that grows with profits.

ONE TRADE FANNED TO FIVE ACCOUNTS Master tradeCopier$50K, MLL $2,000$50K, MLL $2,000$50K, MLL $2,000$50K, MLL $2,000$50K, MLL $2,000-$2,500 of $10,00025% of the combined buffersame share as one account: $500 / $2,0004 identical stops end all fiveCombined swing: 5.00 sigma if identical, 2.24 sigma if independent.Chance all five fail at an illustrative 30% each: 30% if identical, 0.243% if independent.
Five identical accounts lose the same share of their buffers at the same time, so the fleet fails exactly when one account would. Independence, not account count, is what reduces the chance of losing everything.

Diversification needs different decisions. For N accounts with equal P&L volatility σ and pairwise correlation ρ, combined volatility is σ × √(N + N(N-1)ρ): identical trades (ρ = 1) give 5.00σ at N = 5, while fully independent strategies (ρ = 0) give √5 = 2.24σ. With an illustrative 30% chance that any one account fails, five independent accounts all fail together 0.243% of the time (0.3 to the fifth power), while five copies of one trade stream fail together 30% of the time. Copy trading correlation risk explains why copied accounts behave as one.

Go deeper

Frequently asked questions

How many accounts can you have with Apex Trader Funding?

No verified figure is given here, because Apex's official pages could not be loaded in September 2026. Read the current cap in Apex's own help centre before buying, since caps repeated on forums and review sites can predate the latest rule change.

Does a failed or closed account free up a slot?

Usually yes: Topstep, Lucid Trading, FundedNext Futures and Elite Trader Funding count only active funded accounts, and My Funded Futures counts active evaluations and active Sim-Funded accounts. Check that your own firm's rule says active before counting on it.

Can a second computer or VPS get around household rules?

No. Household rules at Lucid Trading, Tradeify, Alpha Futures, Elite Trader Funding and FundedNext Futures follow the people and the address, not the hardware. Separate devices are the minimum at My Funded Futures, not a workaround.

Can someone else trade my funded account for me?

No. Topstep's Prohibited Conduct rules ban account sharing, and Tradeify's agreement prohibits management of a trader's account by any third party, so the verified account holder must be the person trading.

Can I run a different strategy on each funded account?

Yes, and independent strategies are how extra accounts lower combined risk. Avoid opposite positions in the same or closely related contracts at the same time, which the hedging rules checked treat as a breach.

Do I need a trade copier to run several funded accounts?

No. You can place each order by hand or use copying built into your trading platform; a dedicated copier mainly removes the repeated clicks and the delay between accounts. Check each firm's copier rule before connecting one.

Is it better to hold 5 accounts at one firm or 1 account at each of 5 firms?

One firm is simpler to run: one rulebook, one drawdown model, one payout schedule and one set of fees. Five firms limit the damage from one firm's rule change or payout delay, but neither choice lowers trading risk when every account takes identical trades.

How often do prop firms change their account limits?

Often enough to recheck before every purchase. Alpha Futures raised its Standard cap from 3 to 5 for accounts opened from July 27, 2026, and Elite Trader Funding cut its limit from 20 to 5 for evaluations bought from September 17, 2025.

Sources

  1. Topstep (2026), Express Funded Account Parameters, Topstep Help Center
  2. Topstep (2026), Live Funded Account Parameters, Topstep Help Center
  3. Topstep (2026), What is the Maximum Loss Limit?, Topstep Help Center
  4. My Funded Futures (2026), Moving from Evaluation to Sim-Funded Account, MFFU Help Center
  5. Tradeify (2026), Tradeify Evaluation Services Agreement
  6. Lucid Trading (2026), Maximum Number of Accounts, Lucid Help Center